Skip to content

Meet Our Board of Directors

The AICAF Board of Directors is made up of Native leaders from across the nation. All board members are elected through a nomination process. These individuals bring an impressive set of skills, energy, passion, and connections that will help the Foundation further its mission. In addition, board members serve in many professional and volunteer capacities devoted to improving and strengthening our communities.


Gary Ferguson, ND


Vice Chairperson

Margo Gray

Osage Nation


Deana Jackson



Samuel A. Moose, MTAG

Mille Lacs Band of Ojibwe

Board Member

Bret R. Benally Thompson, MD

White Earth Ojibwe

Board Member

Mary Fairbanks, DNP

White Earth Ojibwe

Board Member

Mark Fox, JD

Mandan Hidatsa Arikara Nations

Board Member

Kalina Newmark, MBA

Dene First Nations

Board Member

Nicole Hallingstad


Board Member

Laura Revels


Board Member

Frances Tiger

Muscogee Creek Nation

Founding Board of Directors:

Seven of the founding board of directors who successfully launched this foundation have served their maximum terms. Each member helped elect the new leadership who will guide our next phase of development and growth. We thank our founders for their service, and commitment to strengthening AICAF and its mission over the past years.

  • Michael A. Goze, Ho-Chunk
  • Laura Waterman Wittstock, Seneca
  • Joanna Bryant, Shakopee Mdewakanton Dakota
  • James Lien, Sicangu Lakota Oyate, Rosebud
  • Jessica Ryan, Brothertown Nation
  • Jo-Anne E. Stately, Anishinaabe, White Earth
  • Howard D. Valandra, Sicangu Lakota Oyate, Rosebud